Country and Regional Groupings

International Monetary Fund. Middle East and Central Asia Dept.
Published Date:
October 2008
  • ShareShare
Show Summary Details

The October 2008 Regional Economic Outlook: Middle East and Central Asia (REO), covering countries in the Middle East and Central Asia Department (MCD) of the International Monetary Fund (IMF), provides a broad overview of recent economic developments in 2008 and prospects and policy issues for the remainder of 2008 and 2009. To facilitate the analysis, the 30 MCD countries covered in this report are divided into three groups: oil-exporting countries, low-income countries, and emerging market countries. Countries are grouped based on the share of oil in total exports, per capita income, and access to international capital markets. The country acronyms used in some figures are included in parentheses.

Oil-exporting countries comprise Algeria (DZA), Azerbaijan (AZE), Bahrain (BHR), Iran (IRN), Iraq (IRQ), Kazakhstan (KAZ), Kuwait (KWT), Libya (LBY), Oman (OMN), Qatar (QAT), Saudi Arabia (SAU), Syria (SYR), Turkmenistan (TKM), and the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Low-income countries comprise Afghanistan (AFG), Armenia (ARM), Djibouti (DJI), Georgia (GEO), the Kyrgyz Republic (KGZ), Mauritania (MRT), Sudan (SDN), Tajikistan (TJK), Uzbekistan (UZB), and Yemen (YMN).

Emerging market countries include Egypt (EGY), Jordan (JOR), Lebanon (LBN), Morocco (MAR), Pakistan (PAK), and Tunisia (TUN).

In addition, the following geographical groupings are used:

CCA (the Caucasus and Central Asia) comprises Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

Emerging Asia comprises Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Kiribati, Republic of Korea, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Taiwan Province of China, Thailand, Tonga, Vanuatu, and Vietnam.

GCC (Gulf Cooperation Council) is composed of Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.

Maghreb comprises Algeria, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, and Tunisia.

Mashreq comprises Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, and Syria.

MENA (Middle East and North Africa) refers to the following countries covered by MCD: Algeria, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Iran, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

    Other Resources Citing This Publication