Back Matter

Back Matter

International Monetary Fund
Published Date:
September 2009
    • ShareShare
    Show Summary Details

    In this report, unless a distinction is made, the term “JSA” also includes its predecessor, the JAA (lapan Administered Technical Assistance Account).

    The reference to fiscal year in this report is to the IMF fiscal year, which runs from May 1 through April 30. This report thus covers the period May 1, 2008-April 30, 2009. Reports on FY2000-FY2008 can be found on the IMF website, under

    As of the end of the period covered by this report, there were 185 member countries. Kosovo, the IMF’s 186th member, joined in June 2009.

    For further information on the IMF financial assistance programs, see htm.

    Additional information on the IMF technical assistance activities can be found under exr/facts/tech.htm.

    The IMF currently cosponsors seven regional training institutes/programs with other donors and host governments: the Joint Vienna Institute in Austria; the IMF-Singapore Regional Training Institute in Singapore; the IMF-Arab Monetary Fund Regional Training Program in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates; the Joint Africa Institute in Tunis, Tunisia; the Joint China-IMF Training Program in Dalian, China; the Joint Regional Training Center for Latin America in Brasilia, Brazil; and the Joint India-IMF Training Program in Pune, India.

    The seven IMF regional technical assistance centers comprise three Africa Regional Technical Assistance Centers (Central AFRITAC, based in Libreville, Gabon; East AFRI-TAC, based in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania; and West AFRITAC, based in Bamako, Mali); the Central America, Panama and Dominican Republic Regional Technical Assistance Center (CAPTAC-DR), based in Guatemala City, Guatemala; the Caribbean Regional Technical Assistance Center (CARTAC), based in Bridgetown, Barbados; the Middle East Regional Technical Assistance Center (METAC), based in Beirut, Lebanon; and the Pacific Financial Technical Assistance Center (PFTAC), based in Suva, Fiji.

    IMF headquarters-based activities related to technical assistance, such as headquarters-based TA, policy and research, evaluation, management, and administration, were financed internally.

    RSNs were introduced in FY2008 as part of the IMF’s efforts to enhance its TA prioritization process.

    Because of the time required for the contracting and fielding ot experts, and for payment of invoices, there is a time lag between commitment and disbursement. The duration of a ISA-funded TA project is typically 6 to 12 months.

    This represents an 11 percent increase in the amount approved and a 22 percent increase in the number of projects funded compared with FY2008 (see Table 2).

    The IMF arranges for an annual audit of the JSA to be undertaken by its external auditors in connection with the annual audit of the IMF’s own accounts, and for a separate certificate of completion to be provided to the Japanese authorities. See Annex 3 for the audited financial statements of the JSA and the Japan Advanced Scholarship Program for FY2009.

    As of the end of FY2009, there were seven regional training centers and six RTACs. A seventh RTAC was established in June 2009.

    This reflects the priority given to the countries of this region under JSA financing guidelines.

    Multiregional projects are those with beneficiaries from more than one region. Annex 1 includes descriptions of such projects.

    Starting with the FY2008 report, JSA commitments for countries in Central Asia (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan) are included with countries in the Middle East to better align recorded data with the reconfiguration of the IMF’s former two European departments and Middle East department into a single European department and a Middle East and Central Asia department.

    One way the IMF measures its technical assistance is by recording the time spent by IMF staff and experts on such activities. A person-year is equivalent to about 260 working days.

    ln FY2003, as part of a larger effort to strengthen monitoring and evaluation of IMF technical assistance, a multiyear program of TA evaluations was introduced under which the results of three to four evaluations covering a mix of topics are presented each year to the IMF Executive Board.

    See “Technical Assistance Evaluation Program: Findings of Evaluations and Updated Program,” available at, for a list of completed evaluations, with links to the reports.

    The scholarship program targets candidates from Cambodia, China, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Mongolia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, and Vietnam, as well as the Pacific Island countries.

    Under the Japan-IMF Scholarship Program for Asia, an academic year refers to the period October 1-September 30. Thus, academic year 2008 refers to the period October 1, 2008-September 30, 2009.

    Graduate Institute for Policy Studies, Hitotsubashi University, International University of Japan, and Yokohama National University.

    Under the Japan-IMF Advanced Scholarship Program, an academic year refers to the period August 1-July 31 (e.g., the academic year 2007 refers to the period August 1, 2007-July 31,2008).

    Because of scheduling difficulties, joint field visits were not carried out in FY2005.

    The joint Japan-IMF review team consisted of Mr. Hiromi Yamaoka, IMF Alternate Executive Director for Japan; Mr. Hironori Shouji, International Organizational Division, Ministry of Finance; and Mr. Harish Mendis, Senior Technical Assistance Officer, IMF Office of Technical Assistance Management.

      You are not logged in and do not have access to this content. Please login or, to subscribe to IMF eLibrary, please click here

      Other Resources Citing This Publication