Front Matter

Front Matter

International Monetary Fund
Published Date:
September 1983
    • ShareShare
    Show Summary Details

    Annual Report 1983

    International Standard Serial Number: ISSN 0250–7498


    The following symbols have been used throughout this Report:

    (…) indicate that data are not available;

    (—) indicates a figure too small to record in the table or that the item does not exist;

    (-) is used between years or months (e.g., 1973–82 or January-June) to indicate the years or months covered, including the beginning and ending years or months;

    (/) is used between years (e.g., 1982/83) to indicate a financial year.

    “Billion” means a thousand million.

    Minor discrepancies between constituent figures and totals are due to rounding.

    The classification of countries employed in the Report is indicated in Tables 1 and 2 on pages 6 and 13.

    International Monetary Fund

    J. de Larosière

    Managing Director and Chairman of the Executive Board

    William B. Dale

    Deputy Managing Director

    Executive DirectorsAlternate Executive Directors
    Richard D. ErbCharles H. Dallara
    Nigel WicksChristopher T. Taylor
    Gerhard LaskeGuenter Grosche
    Bruno de MauldeAnne Le Lorier
    Teruo HiraoTadaie Yamashita
    Yusuf A. NimatallahJobarah E. Suraisry
    Miguel A. SeniorJosé L. Feito
    Robert K. JoyceMichael Casey
    J. J. PolakTom de Vries
    Jacques de GrooteHeinrich G. Schneider
    Giovanni LovatoCosta P. Caranicas
    A. R. G. ProwseKerry G. Morrell
    Mohamed FinaishTariq Alhaimus
    R. N. MalhotraA. S. Jayawardena
    John TvedtArne Lindå
    N’Faly SangareE. I. M. Mtei
    J. E. IsmaelJAAFAR Ahmad
    Alexandre KafkaCésar Robalino
    ZHANG ZicunWANG Enshao
    Ghassem SalehkhouOmar Kabbaj
    Alvaro DonosoMario Teijeiro
    Abderrahmane Alfidjawa Bilenga Tshishimbi
    Senior Officers
    CounsellorWalter O. Habermeier*
    Economic CounsellorWilliam C. Hood*
    CounsellorL. A. Whittome*
    Administration DepartmentRoland Tenconi, Director
    African DepartmentJ. B. Zulu, Director
    Asian DepartmentTun Thin, Director
    Central Banking DepartmentP. N. Kaul, Director
    European DepartmentL. A. Whittome, Director
    Exchange and Trade Relations DepartmentC. David Finch, Director
    External Relations DepartmentAzizali F. Mohammed, Director
    Fiscal Affairs DepartmentVito Tanzi, Director
    IMF InstituteGerard M. Teyssier, Director
    Legal DepartmentGeorge Nicoletopoulos, Director
    Middle Eastern DepartmentA. Shakour Shaalan, Director
    Research DepartmentWilliam C. Hood, Director
    Secretary’s DepartmentLeo Van Houtven, Secretary
    Treasurer’s DepartmentWalter O. Habermeier, Treasurer
    Western Hemisphere DepartmentEduardo Wiesner, Director
    Bureau of Computing ServicesWarren N. Minami, Director
    Bureau of Language ServicesAndrew J. Beith, Director
    Bureau of StatisticsWerner Dannemann, Director
    Office in Europe (Paris)Aldo Guetta, Director
    Office in GenevaCarlos A. Sansón, Director
    Chief EditorNorman K. Humphreys

    Alphabetical listing.

    Alphabetical listing.

    August 4, 1983


    August 4, 1983

    Dear Mr Chairman:

    I have the honor to present to the Board of Governors the Annual Report of the Executive Board for the financial year ended April 30, 1983, in accordance with Article XII, Section 7(a) of the Articles of Agreement of the International Monetary Fund and Section 10 of the Fund’s By-Laws. In accordance with Section 20 of the By-Laws, the administrative budget of the Fund approved by the Executive Board for the financial year ending April 30, 1984 is presented in Appendix VI and the audited financial statements of the General Department, the Special Drawing Rights Department, the Subsidy Account, the Supplementary Financing Facility Subsidy Account, the Trust Fund, and the Staff Retirement Plan for the year ended April 30, 1983, together with the reports of the External Audit Committee thereon, are presented in Appendix VIII.

    Yours sincerely,



    Chairman of the Executive Board

    Chairman of the Board of Governors

    International Monetary Fund

      You are not logged in and do not have access to this content. Please login or, to subscribe to IMF eLibrary, please click here

      Other Resources Citing This Publication