Front Matter

Front Matter

International Monetary Fund
Published Date:
September 1973
    • ShareShare
    Show Summary Details

    Annual Report 1973


    The following symbols have been used throughout this Report:

    (…) indicate that data are not available;

    (—) indicates that the figure is zero or less than half the final digit shown, or that the item does not exist;

    (–) is used between years or months (e.g., 1969–72 or January–June) to indicate the years or months covered, including the beginning and ending years or months;

    (/) is used between years (e.g., 1972/73) to indicate a fiscal year.

    “Billion” means a thousand million.

    Minor discrepancies between constituent figures and totals are due to rounding.

    The classification of countries employed in the Report is indicated in Table 1 on page 9.


    Pierre-Paul Schweitzer

    Managing Director and Chairman of the Executive Board

    Frank A. Southard, Jr.

    Deputy Managing Director

    Executive DirectorsAlternate Executive Directors
    William B. DaleCharles R. Harley
    Anthony K. RawlinsonPeter J. Bull
    Guenther SchleimingerLore Fuenfgelt
    Jacques Henri WahlClaude Beaurain
    Kaichi KawaguchiMikio Wakatsuki
    Francesco Palamenghi-CrispiCarlos Bustelo
    Robert BryceGeorge Reynolds
    Nazih DeifM. M. Ahmad
    Byanti KharmawanNguyên Huu Hanh
    Lindsay B. BrandR. van S. Smit
    P. S. N. PrasadW. M. Tilakaratna
    André van CampenhoutHeinrich G. Schneider
    Erik BrofossSven Lampe
    Pieter LieftinckTom de Vries
    S. B. Nicol-ColeH. R. Monday, Jr.
    Guillermo BuesoFrancisco Suarez
    Alexandre KafkaBasilio Martins
    Mohammed YeganehCosta P. Caranicas
    Carlos Massad A.Ricardo H. Arriazu
    Antoine W. YaméogoSamuel Nana-Sinkam
    Senior Officers
    The General CounselJoseph Gold
    The Economic CounsellorJ. J. Polak
    Administration DepartmentPhillip Thorson, Director
    African DepartmentMamoudou Touré, Director
    Asian DepartmentTun Thin, Director
    Central Banking ServiceJ. V. Mládek, Director
    European DepartmentL. A. Whittome, Director
    Exchange and Trade Relations DepartmentErnest Sturc, Director
    Fiscal Affairs DepartmentRichard Goode, Director
    IMF InstituteGérard M. Teyssier, Director
    Legal DepartmentJoseph Gold, Director
    Middle Eastern DepartmentJohn W. Gunter, Acting Director1
    Research DepartmentJ. J. Polak, Director
    Secretary’s DepartmentW. Lawrence Hebbard, Secretary
    Treasurer’s DepartmentWalter O. Habermeier, Treasurer
    Western Hemisphere DepartmentJorge Del Canto, Director
    Bureau of Language ServicesJ. S. Haszard, Director
    Bureau of StatisticsEarl Hicks, Director
    Office in Europe (Paris)Jean-Paul Sallé, Director
    Office in GenevaEdgar Jones; Director
    Chief EditorRoger V. Anderson
    July 25, 1973

    Anwar Ali, Director (on leave).


    July 25, 1973

    My dear Mr. Chairman:

    In accordance with Section 10 of the By-Laws of the International Monetary Fund, I have the honor to present to the Board of Governors the Annual Report of the Executive Directors for the fiscal year ended April 30, 1973.

    Yours sincerely,


    Pierre-Paul Schweitzer

    Chairman of the Executive Board

    Chairman of the Board of Governors

    International Monetary Fund

      You are not logged in and do not have access to this content. Please login or, to subscribe to IMF eLibrary, please click here

      Other Resources Citing This Publication