Front Matter

Front Matter

International Monetary Fund
Published Date:
September 1970
    • ShareShare
    Show Summary Details


    The following symbols have been used throughout this Report:

    • (…) indicate that data are not available;

    • (—) indicates that the figure is zero or less than half the final digit shown, or that the item does not exist;

    • (–) is used between years or months (e.g., 1966-69 or January-June) to indicate the years or months covered, including the beginning and ending years or months;

    • (/) is used between years (e.g., 1969/70) to indicate a fiscal year or a crop year;

    • “Billion” means a thousand million.

    Minor discrepancies in totals shown in the tables and in percentages are due to rounding.

    The classification of countries employed in the Report may be found in footnote 1 on page 42.


    Pierre-Paul Schweitzer

    Managing Director and Chairman of the Executive Board

    Frank A. Southard, Jr.

    Deputy Managing Director

    Executive DirectorsAlternate Executive Directors
    William B. Dale
    Derek MitchellR. H. Gilchrist
    Guenther SchleimingerLore Fuenfgelt
    Georges PlescoffBruno de Maulde
    B. K. MadanS. S. Marathe
    Francesco Palamenghi-CrispiCarlos Bustelo
    Ahmed Zaki SaadAlbert Mansour
    Hideo SuzukiKoichi Satow
    Robert JohnstoneMaurice Horgan
    J. O. StoneG. P. C. de Kock
    Byanti KharmawanMalek Ali Merican
    Pieter LieftinckTom de Vries
    Leonard A. WilliamsMaurice Peter Omwony
    André van CampenhoutJacques Roelandts
    Alfredo Phillips O.Marcos A. Sandoval
    Eero AspSigurgeir Jonsson
    Alexandre KafkaEduardo da S. Gomes, Jr.
    Luis EscobarRicardo H. Arriazu
    Beue TannNguyên Huu Hanh
    Antoine W. YaméogoLéon M. Rajaobelina
    Senior Officers
    The General CounselJoseph Gold
    The Economic CounsellorJ. J. Polak
    Administration DepartmentPhillip Thorson, Director
    African DepartmentMamoudou Touré, Director
    Asian DepartmentD. S. Savkar, Director
    Central Banking ServiceJ. V. Mládek, Director
    European DepartmentL. A. Whittome, Director
    Exchange and Trade Relations DepartmentErnest Sturc, Director
    Fiscal Affairs DepartmentRichard Goode, Director
    IMF InstituteF. A. G. Keesing, Director
    Legal DepartmentJoseph Gold, Director
    Middle Eastern DepartmentJohn W. Gunter, Acting Director 1
    Research DepartmentJ. J. Polak, Director
    Secretary’s DepartmentW. Lawrence Hebbard, Secretary
    Treasurer’s DepartmentWalter O. Habermeier, Treasurer
    Western Hemisphere DepartmentJorge Del Canto, Director
    Bureau of StatisticsEarl Hicks, Director
    Office in Europe (Paris)Jean-Paul Sallé, Director
    Office in GenevaEdgar Jones, Director
    Chief EditorRoger V. Anderson
    July 22, 1970

    Anwar Ali, Director (on leave).

    Anwar Ali, Director (on leave).


    July 22, 1970

    My dear Mr. Chairman:

    In accordance with Section 10 of the By-Laws of the International Monetary Fund, I have the honor to present to the Board of Governors the Annual Report of the Executive Directors for the fiscal year ended April 30, 1970.

    Yours sincerely,


    Pierre-Paul Schweitzer

    Chairman of the Executive Board

    Chairman of the Board of Governors

    International Monetary Fund

      You are not logged in and do not have access to this content. Please login or, to subscribe to IMF eLibrary, please click here

      Other Resources Citing This Publication