The Economic Community of West African States, which is made up of 16 countries of the West African subregion, was established in 1975 with the ultimate objective of forming an economic community. It was the product of the Pan-Africanism sweeping the African continent at the time, as well as the efforts of the private sector lobby and the encouragement of ECA.