The Basle Committee on Banking Supervision was established at the end of 1974 by the central bank governors of the Group of Ten industrialized countries1 with the objective of strengthening collaboration among national authorities in their prudential supervision of international banking. The Committee, whose members are senior officials of the central banks and supervisory agencies of the Group of Ten countries and Luxembourg, meets four times a year at the Bank for International Settlements in Basle, Switzerland.